Club Location

icon icon shadow icon transparent
  • If you would like to find out more about the club or if you have any general queries please contact the This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

    For a list of all Shandon Boat Club contacts please click here

    To like us on facebook click here
  • The six junior rowers representing Ireland in the European Junior Rowing Championships will be leaving for Racice in the Czech Republic on Thursday next 21st May.    The club is proud of the fact that two of the six are members of Shandon Boat Club.  

    Ronan Byrne will be rowing in the very competitive heats of the men's double (18 countries represented) on Saturday morning at approx 10.30am while Colm Hennessy will be stroking the men's quad which is racing in their equally competitive heats (also 18 countries in total participating) an hour later.  

    We wish both crews and especially Ronan and Colm the very best of luck in competiting for their country in this highly prestiguous international rowing event.  

    The athletes have to fully self fund their participation in this event and in order to do this they have opened a "go fund me" account to help raise the €6000 needed by both crews.   You can visit their page at

  • Congratulations to all our rowers who participated in Lee Regatta on the 16th May.   The club had a very big entry and it was great to see so many on the water in the Light Blue - some indeed racing for the very first time.    Shandon had a record number of winners with fifteen victories across all grades as follows:   

    Men's Crews:   J14 1X (Jack Leggett), J14 2X, J14 4X, J15 1X (Jerome Arrigan), J15 1X (Sam O'Neill), Junior 15 2X (three wins),  Junior 15 4X (two wins), J16 4X, Club2 8.

    Women's Crews:  Junior 15 4X, Junior 16 4X, J16 1X (Chelsey Minihane).

  • On Thursday 6th May at 6.00pm in Cork Constitution Rugby Club prizes were presented to the overall and catergory winners of the 2015 Cork Sculling Ladder.    For the 3rd year in a row a Shandon Rower won the overall prize.    Ronan Byrne took the top of the Ladder position in the last race of the series by beating the then No. 1 slot holder.   Ronan also won the Men's Intermediate, Junior 18 and Junior 16 sections.   Other Shandon section winners were all in the Master's Categories with Donal Smith (Masters A), David Heffernan (Masters B), Henrik Merz (Masters C), Seamus Quain (Masters H and I).

  • Bag packing in Dunnes Stores, Douglas Court over the weekend of the 17th and 18th April raised over €1,000 for the club.    Thanks to all who participated and especially to the parents who helped with Supervision. 

    The cake sale at the Boat naming on the 19th April raised over €400.   Once again thanks to Paula Harrington and the ladies of the catering committee for their hard work.    It also added greatly to the festive feel of the occassion.

  • The committee has given approval for the purchase of a second hand heavyweight Empacher 4 from Rowing Ireland.    This will be the only boat in the club properly suited to heavyweight rowers and is in line with the club strategy of developing adult rowing in the club.